Call for Papers
8. June 2021
Concept 2021
21. July 2021

CONNECT! THE SMART TV AWARD 2021

The 6th annual MEDIENTAGE Special Connect! The Future of TV is dedicated to the world of connected television. The digital preview on the 24th of June gives you a taste of the conference and award – both taking place at the 35th MEDIENTAGE MÜNCHEN on 26 October 2021. More information will follow shortly.

For the second time, the Connect! The Smart TV Award honours special innovations, apps and services related to connected television. It is awarded by MEDIENTAGE MÜNCHEN and the Deutsche TV-Plattform in association with MedienNetzwerk Bayern

 

Apply now!

The application period for the award runs from 24 June to 31 August.

All providers whose Connected TV services are available in Germany or the DACH region are invited to apply, regardless of their company’s location. Connected TV services are applications that can be used on one or all of the following platforms:

  • TV boxes, receivers or sticks
  • Smart TV platforms on TVs
  • HbbTV applications

In addition, creative and innovative ideas for the use of TV screens in the future can be submitted for the first time in the category All Eyes on you – Best Newcomer. For more information, see Categories below.

The winners will have the opportunity to present themselves in a digital masterclass at MEDIENTAGE MÜNCHEN 2021 and will also benefit from the reach and media attention of Medien.Bayern GmbH and the German TV Platform. The prize is not endowed.

Please note that a Google email address is required to process the application form!

 

Award-Categories 

1) Like2Use – Best User Experience
In this category, the best user experience with services on connected TVs is awarded. Preconditions are optimal usability, i.e. the intuitive handling and user friendliness of applications on connected TVs, as well as the perfect user experience, which sustainably generates enthusiasm among viewers and makes the overall experience of using the app attractive. This category also includes helpful features within the application, an attractive design and a positive brand image.

2) Feels like Magic – Best technological Innovation
Modern smart TVs offer an attractive combination of technology, design and a diverse entertainment experience. The Feels like Magic category honours outstanding technological innovations on smart TVs that take the connected TV experience to a new level. The award-winning technological innovation can be on the device itself or relate to a service or app in the connected TV environment that enables a new TV experience (e.g. new ways of interacting with smart TVs, AI/voice recognition, gamification features, in-app shopping, smart home functions, etc.).

3) Loud & Clear – Best Brand Performance
In this category the best brand performance in connected television is awarded. We consider all successful brand experiences on smart TVs. This can include corporate channels, successful advertising campaigns or apps.

4) Good2CU – Best Special Interest Offer
In this category outstanding special interest offers on connected TV are awarded. All special interest applications are concidered that offer content that is customized for a clearly defined and highly focussed target group, which is classified by the jury as high-quality, suitable and consistent.

5) All Eyes on you – Best Newcomer
The category All Eyes on you rewards successfully introduced or well established concepts for new Connected TV services, as well as creative/innovative ideas for the use of TV screens in the future, which have been realised or presented between 1.3.2020 and 31.8.2021 (deadline for submissions) and which have set a relevant milestone for the Connected TV world and/or show innovative, unconventional scenarios for the screen use of tomorrow ever since.

 

The Jury

This high-class jury of industry experts picks the winners:

  • Christine Gebhard, editor-in-chief film-tv-video.de
  • Prof. Dr. Heidi Krömker, head of department, chairwoman of the examination board for the media technology study programme, TU Ilmenau
  • Jan Möllendorf, Managing Partner defacto x
  • Kathleen Schröter, Technologist & Alchemist, J2C
  • Torsten Zarges, chief reporter dwdl.de

 

 

A review of the 2020 Award can be found here.

In Co-operation with:                    


Supported by:

 

English

MEDIENTAGE MÜNCHEN 2021
20. Juni 2021
Konzept 2021
21. Juli 2021

CONNECT! THE SMART TV AWARD 2021

Das MEDIENTAGE Special Connect! The Future of TV findet in diesem Jahr bereits zum sechsten Mal statt und widmet sich der Welt des vernetzten Fernsehens. Los geht es mit einer online only Preview am 24. Juni, die dir schon mal einen Vorgeschmack auf Conference und Award geben soll – beides wird dann ausführlich im Rahmen der MEDIENTAGE MÜNCHEN am 26. Oktober stattfinden. Weitere Infos dazu folgen in Kürze.

Zum zweiten Mal zeichnet der Connect! The Smart TV Award besondere Innovationen, Apps und Services rund um das vernetzte Fernsehen aus. Verliehen wird er von den MEDIENTAGEN MÜNCHEN und der Deutschen TV-Plattform mit Unterstützung des MedienNetzwerk Bayern

 

Jetzt bewerben!

Die Bewerbungsfrist für den Award läuft von 24. Juni bis 31. August.

Bewerben können sich alle Anbieter, deren Connected TV Services in Deutschland oder der DACH Region verfügbar sind, unabhängig von dem Ort des Firmensitzes. Unter Connected TV Services werden Anwendungen verstanden, die auf einer oder auf allen der folgenden Plattformen genutzt werden können:

  • TV-Boxen, -Receiver oder -Sticks
  • Smart TV-Plattformen auf TV-Geräten
  • HbbTV-Anwendungen

Darüber hinaus können in der Kategorie All Eyes on you – Bester Newcomer erstmals auch kreative und künstlerische Ideen für die Nutzung von TV-Screens der Zukunft eingereicht werden. Weitere Informationen siehe Kategorien im Überblick.

Die Gewinner:innen erhalten die Möglichkeit, sich im Rahmen einer digitalen Masterclass bei den MEDIENTAGEN MÜNCHEN 2021 zu präsentieren und profitieren außerdem von der Reichweite und medialen Aufmerksamkeit der Medien.Bayern GmbH und der Deutschen TV Plattform. Der Preis ist nicht dotiert.

Bittet beachtet, dass für das Bearbeiten des Bewerbungsformulars ein Google E-Mail Adresse notwendig ist!

 

Die Award-Kategorien im Überblick

1) Like2Use – Beste User Experience
In dieser Kategorie wird das beste Nutzererlebnis im Umgang mit Services auf dem Connected TV prämiert. Voraussetzungen sind eine optimale Usability, also die intuitive Bedienbarkeit und Nutzerfreundlichkeit von Anwendungen auf den Connected TVs sowie die perfekte User Experience, die nachhaltig für Begeisterung bei den Zuschauer:innen sorgt und das Gesamterlebnis im Umgang mit der App attraktiv macht. Dazu zählen neben der einfachen Nutzbarkeit, hilfreiche Features innerhalb der Anwendung, ein attraktives Design sowie ein positives Markenimage.

2) Feels like Magic – Beste technologische Innovation
Moderne Smart TVs bieten die attraktive Verbindung von Technik, Design und einem facettenreichen Entertainment-Erlebnis. Die Kategorie Feels like Magic zeichnet herausragende technologische Innovationen auf dem Smart TV aus, die das Connected TV-Erlebnis auf ein neues Level heben. Die prämierte technologische Innovation kann sowohl geräteseitig vorliegen oder einen Service oder eine App im Connected TV-Umfeld betreffen, die ein neues TV-Erlebnis ermöglichen (beispielsweise neue Möglichkeiten in der Interaktion mit dem Smart TV, KI/Spracherkennung, Gamification-Features, In-App-Shopping, Smart Home Funktionen o.ä.).

3) Loud & Clear – Beste Marken Performance
In dieser Kategorie wird die beste Brand Performance im vernetzen Fernsehen prämiert. Wir berücksichtigen dabei alle erfolgreichen Markenerlebnisse auf dem Smart TV. Dazu können Corporate Channels, erfolgreiche Werbe-Kampagnen oder Apps zählen.

4) Good2CU – Bestes Special Interest Angebot
In dieser Kategorie werden herausragende Special Interest Angebote auf dem Connected TV ausgezeichnet. Es werden dabei alle Sparten-Angebote berücksichtigt, die auf eine klar definierte, spitze Zielgruppe zugeschnittene Inhalte anbieten, die von der Jury als qualitativ hochwertig, passgenau und konsistent eingestuft werden.

5) All Eyes on you – Bester Newcomer
Die Kategorie All Eyes on you prämiert erfolgreich eingeführte oder ausgereifte Konzepte für neue Connected TV Services, sowie kreative/künstlerische Ideen für die Nutzung von TV-Screens in der Zukunft, die zwischen dem 1.3.2020 und 31.8.2021 (Deadline für Einreichungen) realisiert bzw. präsentiert worden sind und die seitdem einen relevanten Meilenstein für die Connected TV Welt gesetzt haben und/oder innovative, unkonventionelle Szenarien für die Bildschirmnutzung von morgen aufzeigen. 

 

Die Jury

Über die Gewinner des Awards entscheidet diese hochkarätige Jury aus Branchenexpert:innen:

  • Christine Gebhard, Chefredakteurin film-tv-video.de
  • Prof. Dr. Heidi Krömker, Leiterin des Fachgebietes, Vorsitzende des Prüfungsausschusses für den Studiengang Medientechnologie, TU Ilmenau
  • Jan Möllendorf, Managing Partner defacto x
  • Kathleen Schröter, Technologist & Alchemist, J2C
  • Torsten Zarges, Chefreporter dwdl.de

 

 

Einen Rückblick des Awards 2020 finden Sie hier.

 

In Kooperation mit:                    


Mit Unterstützung von:

 

Deutsch